• Available Formats
    • Availability
    • Priced From ( in USD )
    • Printed Edition
    • Ships in 1-2 business days
    • $176.00
    • Add to Cart

Customers Who Bought This Also Bought


About This Item


Full Description

The Standards for foam liquid concentrates are divided into three categories. Category 1 - Primarily for use on general-purpose hydrocarbon fires; Category 2 - Primarily for use on polar solvents, oxygenated fuels, and water-miscible fuels and all Category 1 applications; Category 3 - Primarily for use on aircraft rescue fire fighting and all Category 1 applications. This Standard refers to Categories 1 and 2 foam liquid concentrates. NOTE: The requirements for Category 3 Aqueous Film-Forming Foam (AFFF) Liquid Concentrates are contained in the Standard CAN/ULC-S560 and the requirements for Category 3 Film-Forming Fluoroprotein (FFFP) Foam Liquid Concentrates are contained in the Standard CAN/ULC-S563. These requirements cover foam producing equipment and liquid concentrates employed for the production and discharge of foam that has an expansion ratio of 20:1 or less and is used for fire extinguishment. These requirements are based on the premise that foam equipment and specified types of foam liquid concentrates with which they are intended to be used are to be investigated for use with each other. If foam equipment covered by these requirements incorporate sprinklers, the sprinklers shall comply with the requirements for Automatic Sprinklers for Fire-Protection Service, ULC/ORD-C199. Requirements for the installation and use of foam equipment and liquid concentrates are included in the following Standards of the National Fire Protection Association: A Standard for Low-, Medium-, and High-Expansion Foam, NFPA 11; and B Standard for the Installation of Foam-Water Sprinkler and Foam-Water Spray Systems, NFPA 16.